When I look in the mirror, I see a person who is not content and looking for a way to be content with the life I have been given and has reached a clear understanding of her purpose. My faith and spirituality teaches that in all things be content because being content will present new opportunities when  appreciative for what one has and where one is but this is not the case for me. Have you ever felt that life is a never-ending race, a chase of a dream, a mission to find out who you are and your purpose? I feel like that each time I look into the mirror.

Some days I see the beauty and accomplishments in life and other days it seems like it is not enough. I question my purpose in life. I think I have participated in every activity of the “search for me”.. dream boards, goal statements, life plans, in-depth discussions and prayer you name it I probably have done it and I am still at the same point. Smiling for a moment…I think about all the things I just mentioned just to figure out who I am, my purpose and aspirations…should’nt I know this because the best person to know me is me. Moving on……

If you were to ask me what I thought my life purpose is I would say to make a difference in the education of the hearing community in regards to the deaf community. To advocate and provide  a service to the deaf community where there are needs. Why? From birth to this moment  it seems as though I have always stay connected to the deaf community through every job or opportunity I have had is connected to sign language, deaf community, deaf rights, deaf…deaf…deaf. I love being with this community but I want to do more, however, what does more look like? Maybe more is challenging my education in this topic, maybe more is being more involved, maybe more is simply letting go and letting God lead me exactly where I should be and with who I should be. I will admit, when I am teaching sign language or deaf culture or working with deaf individuals I feel such a passion inside, a spirit excitement ,of home and of love. Then why do I look in the mirror and see discontent and a never ending search?

I think it is because as a human being enough is never enough there is always more. Being content may be a distant goal because I don’t ever remember being taught to be content instead I was taught to be successful, to do more and be more. This post is serving as a sounding board into a small part of my emotional life and goals. As I type this I am thinking of content and what that looks like and how to remain that way. I am thinking of how to prepare myself for the next time I look in the mirror what will my statement be.

It will be…..This is it! My special place, my space of content wherever and whoever I am, a place to be me and live in my purpose…A place of peace, not just a moment in time where all is well but a lifetime that feels like that moment. When I look in the mirror, I am…..exceptional.

I will remind myself as a man thinketh so is he…think content and blessed. Proverbs 23:7

