Nederlands: Monogram van studentenclub Carpe Diem

Nederlands: Monogram van studentenclub Carpe Diem (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Carpe Diem

 The enjoyment of the pleasures of the moment without concern for the future

To “seize the day” and/or a certain moment in time.

To put aside all differences, all fears, all worries, and just go for it.

To make the most out of that part of time

Live your life to the full

Be spontaneous

Go for it

Last night was the ASL showcase for my program. Both the students and I have been working persistently to produce a worthy showcase for parents, fellow students/teachers and (drum roll) our primary focus the Deaf community. Well, the show seemed to be a success (grin from ear to ear)!!! There was an overwhelming vibe of positivity, support and well wishing from the audience. At the end of the performance encouraging feedback and future commitments were shared with both students and I. From the moment we began the show to the moment we turned lights off we seized the moments. I put my hands in the air and waved them like I just didn’t care and enjoyed the energy from the crowd and my students. I almost felt like a rock star and so did they.My students had to stop me several times to remind me to do a quick dance, or shake off the stress or to look at what we had accomplished as I ran in circles at the event make sure all needs were meet (even though I had a great team taking care of everything, I could not let go).  Finally I stopped and joined the festivities. Last night, the lesson learned is the importance  of seizing the day….there is not one minute, hour, moment or day that can be returned. I know there are so many phases or clichés people use casually and without thought such as “live like there is no tomorrow” well that’s hard to do when you are trying to get through today and who has time to think about tomorrow. However, when we take a moment to smell the roses you we can see how much we have missed in that minute, hour, moment or day and I’m not sure how you feel but for me it’s too much. I want to stay connected, I want to smell the coral colored roses (enthusiasm/passion) most of all I want to seize the day in any way I can.

What does seize the day look like in my life?

1. Stop and make myself laugh

2. Do a dance I havent in a long time

3. Change the scenery by going for a quick walk or sitting in a garden

4. Telling myself everything I love about me and my life

5. Enjoy my favorite song

6. Doing something out of the ordinary

7. Tell a stranger something good about them

8. Wear my favorite color as much as I can (brown)

9. Remember that I am who I am and being me is good enough

Are you living  or existing? How do you seize the day?

