I absolutely love when I find a good video on YouTube to watch! Especially when I need to practice my receptive practice and the best way to do that is by signing with the Deaf community but when time does not allow that the second best way is by watching videos of native signers.Sometimes when I can’t connect with fellow educators, fluent signers or with members of the Deaf community I watch videos to retain my skills as best as I can..smile. Videos of native signers can be from YouTube, resources suggested by RID (Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf), EIPA(Educational Interpreters Performance Assessment) or videos found on material websites such as www.dawnsignpress.com or www.harriscommunications.com.

I found this video on YouTube while looking for idiom videos both English and ASL to teach my students about how English Idioms are used in sign language. I also taught them the common phrases and idioms specific to the deaf community. Teaching Idioms is a lengthy process as students need to understand the definition for the term idioms and then how they are used in the English language. After that we then learn the same information for ASL idioms. At the very end of all that this a great video to show students of idioms at work…maybe a bit much for beginning students but a good video for fluent signers. If you have other suggestions please share.

Until my next post, be encouraged:)

