Photograph of a female Monarch Butterfly en ( ...

Photograph of a female Monarch Butterfly en ( Danaus plexippus en ) on a hybrid Milkweed en ( Asclepias tuberosa en x Asclepias incarnata en ). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

butterfly project

Children love butterflies! During last summer I began teaching my daughter how to sign certain signs and she asked about the sign for butterfly. When I showed her it was like she was amazed at how beautiful her hands were as they formed the sign and moved outwards and upwards. At that moment I decided to make a mini-lesson about butterflies. I taught her the sign again (reinforcement), I printed a picture of butterfly and she colored it and cut it out to post in her bedroom. There after, as we went on our walk the perfect opportunity came, we saw a butterfly and she signed it and I signed it with her and it was a great opportunity to reinforce what we just learned. That is what teaching ASL to children is about. Teaching the vocabulary, supporting the vocabulary through activities and in natural environments.

Please use this activity with your children and let me know how it works:)

